Highlights from the 2021-2022 Fellowship Application Cycle

As the 2021-2022 fellowship application cycle comes to a close, CCPA would like to share some highlights from this past year.

2021-2022 Recipients

Darius Graham ‘22 was selected as a Fulbright Study/Research recipient for the United Kingdom (Imperial College London).

Naomi Kalombo ‘22 will be a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant in Luxembourg.

Kirsten Mullin ‘19 was selected as a Fulbright Study/Research recipient and will travel to Morocco.

Chace Pulley in front of a white background.

Chace Pulley ‘21 will be a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant in Colombia.

Fulbright Alternate

Rio Morales ‘17, Study/Research, Italy

Fulbright Semifinalists

Chris Conrad ‘22, Study/Research, Spain

Sarah Cahn ‘22, Study/Research, Israel

Kate Scully ‘22, English Teaching Assistant, Netherlands

Ryan Totaro ‘22, English Teaching Assistant, Norway

Top-Producing Institution

Haverford was named a Fulbright Top Producing Institution for the 2020-2021 application cycle. Our 4 Fulbright recipients are currently on their grants in Spain, Germany, Taiwan, and Uganda.

Photo of Brandon Pita

Brandon Pita ‘22 was selected as a Watson Fellow and will spend a year traveling and pursuing an independent, original project on the role of music in identity and community formation in Mexican communities around the world.

Headshot of Trevor Stern outside Haverford.

Trevor Stern ‘22 was selected as a Keasbey Scholar – Haverford’s first recipient since 2004. Trevor will be pursuing a master’s degree in the study of religion at the University of Oxford in the United Kingdom.

Headshot of Christina McBride on Founder's Porch.

Christina McBride ‘23 was selected as a Goldwater Scholar in recognition of her talent and promise as a researcher in the STEM disciplines.

Isabel Floyd ‘20 was selected for a Fulbright Taiwan English Teaching Flagship (ETF) Award and will spend a year teaching elementary or middle school students in Changhua, Taiwan.

Headshot of Karina Domenech in front of some plants.

Karina Domenech ‘20 was selected for the Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange (CBYX) fellowship, during which she will spend an immersive year studying, working, and living in Germany.

Selfie of Michael O'Connell outside Haverford.

Michael O’Connell ‘24 was selected to receive a Critical Languages Scholarship to study Russian in Tbilisi, Georgia this summer.

Headshot of Joie Ling in front of a blue background.
Headshot of Abi Mumme-Monheit outside on a mountain.
Photo of Camille Samuels in front of a brick wall.

Joie Ling ’20, Abi Mumme-Monheit ’20, and Camille Samuels ’21 were selected as NSF Graduate Research Fellows. Joie is pursuing a PhD in microbiology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Abi is pursuing a PhD in developmental genetics at the University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus, and Camille is pursuing a PhD in cultural anthropology at the University of California, Irvine. In addition, Sam Ditkovsly ‘20, Sara Matsumura ‘20, and Dominick Rowan ‘20 were named honorable mentions.

Lawrence Wang ‘14 was selected as Haverford’s first-ever Paul & Daisy Soros Fellow. Lawrence is pursuing his medical degree at the University of California, San Diego.

Elom Tettey-Tamaklo ‘19 was selected to receive the Clementine Cope Fellowship, awarded to Haverford graduates pursuing advanced degrees in any discipline. Elom will be pursuing a Master of Theological Studies (MTS) in Religion, Ethics and Politics at Harvard Divinity School this fall. In addition, Seabrook Jeffcoat ‘22, Sara Ozawa ‘18, Roy Simamora ‘22, and Zakiyyah Winston ‘22 each received a Cope Prize as an honorable mention.

Photo of Claire Cai next to a print of Heinrich Heine's poem "Warnung" at Rutgers University's German Department.

Claire Cai ‘21 was selected to receive the Augustus Taber Murray Fellowship, awarded to Haverford graduates pursuing doctoral degrees in English, Classics, or German. Claire will be pursuing a PhD in German Studies at Rutgers University this fall.

Special thanks goes to the following faculty and staff for their assistance with the application and nomination process, from providing feedback on applications to conducting interviews with candidates:

  • Andrew Janco, Libraries
  • Anna Fodde-Reguer, Libraries
  • Anna West, Health Studies/Anthropology
  • Barak Mendelsohn, Political Science
  • Christina Rose, Chesick Scholars Program
  • Christopher Spencer, Athletics
  • Franklyn Cantor, President’s Office
  • Jennie Ciborowski, Arboretum
  • Jia Hui Lee, VCAM
  • Katie Zichelli, Athletics
  • Kristin Lindgren, Writing Center
  • Matt McKeever, Sociology
  • Rebecca Avery, Study Abroad
  • Roberto Castillo Sandoval, Spanish
  • Sara Mathieson, Computer Science
  • Stephanie Zukerman, CPGC
  • Theresa Tensuan, Dean’s Office
  • Zach Oberfield, Political Science

Committee for College Honors, Fellowships, and Prizes

  • Tarik Aougab, Mathematics
  • Richard Ball, Economics
  • Marilyn Boltz, Psychology
  • Heidi Jacob, Music
  • Jim Keane, Registrar’s Office

KINSC Steering Committee

  • Joanne Brown, KINSC
  • Marielle Latrick, KINSC
  • Ryan Lei, Psychology
  • Karen Masters, Physics
  • Alex Molot, Institutional Advancement
  • Kristen Whalen, Biology

Congratulations to all our students and alumni! If you’re interested in applying to a fellowship for the 2023-2024 award year (i.e., submitting an application during the 2022-2023 academic year), check out the fellowships section of CCPA’s website and contact Jason Chan, Haverford’s fellowship advisor, via email or Handshake.